

# OFFICE OF THE ELECTORAL BOARD GENERAL REGISTRAR City of Fairfax



### Minutes for the November 5<sup>th</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup>, 2014 Electoral Board Meetings

The Secretary called the meeting to order at 10:01am in Sisson House. Attendees: Dirk Brouwer, Secretary; Richard Herrington, Chairman; John Harold, Vice-Chairman; and Kevin Linehan, General Registrar (GR).

At 10:02am, the Secretary moved that the Canvass be convened in closed session pursuant to Section 24.2-653(B) of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the eligibility of provisional voters for the purpose of considering whether each person who submitted a provisional ballot at the Election was qualified to do so. The motion was seconded and approved. The General Registrar provided research on 12 of the 20 provisional ballots cast. He asked for additional time to research the remaining 5 ballots.

At 12:09pm, the Secretary moved that the Canvass recess until 12:00pm on Friday, November 7, 2014. The motion was not approved. At 12:12pm, the Secretary moved that the Canvass be convened in open session. The motion was seconded and approved. The Board certified that the qualifications of the provisional voters were the only matters discussed in the closed session as directed by Section 24.2-653 of the Code of Virginia, and as identified in the motion to close the meeting pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act. The Board voted to accept the votes of the following:

Thomas Konpka, Theresa Allen.

The Board determined that the following voters were not qualified to vote:

Mark Chandler, Theodore Langel, Rebecca Lamb, Elizabeth Elkind, Jaelyn Moore, Nina Paul, Dewey Bell, Kyle Carden, Paul Thorn, Amber Bragg (Huff).

The Board continued to verify available election results. At 12:20pm, the Vice-Chairman moved that the Canvass recess until 1:35pm. The motion was seconded and approved.

## OFFICE OF THE ELECTORAL BOARD GENERAL REGISTRAR City of Fairfax

#### Minutes for the November 5<sup>th</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup>, 2014 Electoral Board Meetings (Continued)

The meeting reconvened at 1:35pm in open session. The Board continued to verify available election results. At 3:34pm, the Secretary moved that the Canvass recess until Friday, November 7, 2014 at 12:00pm. The motion was seconded and approved.

The meeting reconvened on November 7, 2014 at 12:00pm in Sisson House. Attendees: Dirk Brouwer, Secretary; Richard Herrington, Chairman; John Harold, Vice-Chairman; Kevin Linehan, General Registrar (GR); and Susan Johnson, a representative of the Democratic Party. At 12:01pm, The Secretary moved that the Canvass be convened in closed session pursuant to Section 24.2-653(B) of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the eligibility of provisional voters for the purpose of considering whether each person who submitted a provisional ballot at the Election was qualified to do so. The motion was seconded and approved. The representative of the Democratic Party left the meeting. The General Registrar presented information regarding the remaining five provisional voters.

At 12:12pm, the Secretary moved that the Canvass be convened in open session. The motion was seconded and approved. The Board certified that the qualifications of the provisional voters were the only matters discussed in the closed session as directed by Section 24.2-653 of the Code of Virginia, and as identified in the motion to close the meeting pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

The closed session adjourned at 12:26pm and reconvened in open session. The Democratic Party representative returned to the meeting. The Board briefed the Party representative on the procedures followed in the closed meeting and the reasons for closing it. The Registrar left the meeting. The Board certified that only matters discussed in the closed session were the qualifications of provisional voters, as directed by Section 24.2-653 of the Code of Virginia, and as identified in the motion to close the meeting pursuant to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act.

The Board voted on the qualifications of the provisional voters. The Board determined the following voters were qualified to vote:

Melissa Broekelman-Post, Hue Ngo.

The Board determined that the following voters were not qualified to vote:

Kasey McNamera, Jennifer Fox, Amanda Morrow.

## OFFICE OF THE ELECTORAL BOARD GENERAL REGISTRAR City of Fairfax

#### Minutes for the November 5<sup>th</sup> and 7<sup>th</sup>, 2014 Electoral Board Meetings (Continued)

The following provisional voter presented an ID and was qualified to vote:

Alice Rood.

The following provisional voters did not present an ID and were not qualified to vote:

Michael Quijano, Kelly Maggio.

The Party representative was briefed on problems encountered with third party voter registration organizations and advised to inform the Democratic Party. The Party representative left the meeting.

The provisional votes were tabulated and added to the votes tabulated on November 5, 2014. The resulting votes for all precincts were compared with the voting results posted on election night. The differences were accounted for by the provisional votes. The vote for the November 4, 2014 General and Special Election was certified.

The Board discussed the impact of an unscheduled visit to a precinct led by State Senator Petersen and recommended better coordination with the Board before such visits.

At 2:20pm a motion was made seconded and approved to approve the following as officers of election:

Catherine Biasotto, Atika Tabassum.

At 2:36pm, following a discussion, the Vice-Chairman moved that the Registrar be reappointed for the first week of July 2015. The motion was seconded and approved. The Board determined that a subsequent meeting was needed to plan for the recruitment of a new Registrar using the resources of the City Human Resources Department. The meeting was scheduled for November 12, 2014.

Adjournment was moved, seconded, and approved at 2:40pm.

Dirk Brouwer, Secretary City of Fairfax Electoral Board