

## OFFICE OF THE ELECTORAL BOARD GENERAL REGISTRAR City of Fairfax

Electoral Board Minutes of the November 5, 2012 Meeting

The meeting was called to order by the Secretary at 1:00 pm in the Sisson House.

Present were Dirk Brouwer, Secretary, Ron Cross, Chairman, Dennis Egan, Vice-Chairman, and Kevin Linehan, General Registrar.

The Board approved the Minutes of the September 25, 2012 Meeting and took the following actions:

Reviewed the Security Manual, and

Discussed the following items for the General and Special Election of November 6, 2012:

Use of electronic communication devices (cell phones, tablets, etc.) by authorized representatives, media, voters, or anyone in polling place. The following sign will be placed in the polling places:

Photography Prohibited without special permission from the Chief Officer of Election No talking on cell phones or other devices Code of Virginia Title 24.2

Provisional vote tabulation procedures:

There will be two logs in precincts, one for regular provisional voters and one for those with no ID. If necessary, the Board will meet on 11/7 at 2:00 pm and on 11/8 at 12:00 noon. The Party Chairs will be so notified.

Guidelines for authorized representatives, poll book observers, candidates, and media in polling place, provisional vote meeting(s), and canvass:

If a representative or attendee is disruptive after having been warned, he/she will be evicted from the premises. The Chief Officer of Election will be included in any discussions between the representative and a voter.

The Argentinean delegation will be escorted by members of the Electoral Board at Precincts 1, 2, and 6.

The City Police Department has informed the Registrar that they will inspect the precincts on the night of November 5<sup>th</sup> and on Election Day before the polls open. They will be immediately available during the day.

## OFFICE OF THE ELECTORAL BOARD GENERAL REGISTRAR City of Fairfax



Security incidents:

An absentee voter brought in a paper ballot which was incomplete. That ballot was destroyed, and the voter was allowed to vote a replacement ballot. A voter was observed attempting to take a picture of the absentee voting machine. She denied this allegation.

A pre-opening checklist will be used by Electoral Board members during their visits to precincts and be retained in their files.

The following new Officers of Election were approved:

Sue Brown Ray Arun Marty Kelly Christine Walby Kelly Florence Vornadore Carol Jarboe Jean Philips Hazel D. Givens Diane Britt.

The meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm.

Dirk Brouwer Secretary